Henry S. White - 2000 Reilley Award

   White has been a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Utah since 1993.  Prior to that, he was on faculty in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota.  White received his Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from the University of North Carolina in 1978, where he was introduced to electroanalytical chemistry as an undergraduate research assistant in Royce Murray’s lab.  White obtained his Doctor of Philosophy in Chemistry at the University of Texas in 1983, generating photons with electrons (and vice versa) with Allen J Bard.  He was a Postdoctoral Associate with Mark S. Wrighton at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he was instrumental in developing molecule-based diodes and transistors.
   White’s research group pioneered the study of electrodes of nanometer dimensions in the mid-1980s.  Their early studies were spurred by a curiosity about the nature of electron transfer reactions when the electrode dimensions are comparable to that of the redox molecule.  This research led to White’s research interests in the interaction of electrical fields with molecular transport and chemical reactivity at nano- and micro-electrodes. White’s group is also widely known for their seminal theoretical treatment of the influence of the electrical potential distribution on the voltammetric response of electrodes coated by redox-active monolayers.
   White and his students have been actively studying transdermal drug delivery for over a decade, and they have made fundamental contributions to understanding the mechanism of molecular transport across skin.  They have also played a major role in developing analytical methodologies employing the scanning electrochemical microscope to study corrosion and membrane transport.  Recent investigations in his laboratory concerning magnetic field effects on electrochemical reactions has led to the demonstration of miniaturized solution-based ion focusing devices, including ion-beams and cyclotrons.
   White has co-authored ~150 refereed journal articles and book chapters on many topics in electroanalytical chemistry.  He has received the Gilbert H. Ayres Award (1983, University of Texas), the Shell Faculty Career Initiation Award (1985), the McKnight Land-Grant Professorship (1987, The University of Minnesota), and the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award in Chemistry (1987). He held the Shell Chair of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota prior to moving to Utah. He is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry.